Concert Season 56

26th November 2022 at 7:30pm

Dominic Degavino – Piano

We are pleased to welcome Dominic Degavino back to Amersham after his concert with us as part of the highly acclaimed Mithras Trio last season.  The Mithras Trio are members of the prestigious BBC New Generation Artists scheme, and are broadcasting regularly at present on BBC Radio 3.
Sonata in C major Op. 2 No.3 Beethoven
5 Improvisations Op.148 Amy Beach
Allegretto in C minor D.915 Schubert
Piano Sonata No.3 in F minor Op.5 Brahms

Dominic's programme of lesser-known masterpieces from the Classical and Romantic periods begins and ends with two extraordinary, ambitious Sonatas by a young Beethoven and Brahms respectively. In the middle, by contrast, are two late, shorter works - an impressionistic set of Improvisations by pioneering American female composer Amy Beach, and a haunting Allegretto by Schubert.

Dominic Degavino is an exciting pianist who has performed concerts in venues across the United Kingdom and beyond, including solo performances at the Wigmore Hall and Southbank Centre, London as a Park Lane Group artist, at the Bridgewater Hall, Manchester and the Lichfield and Edinburgh festivals, among others. Concerto appearances include performances with the Manchester Camerata and RNCM Symphony Orchestra.

Dominic has achieved considerable competition success, including winning the RNCM Gold Medal Competition, 3rd Prize at the Concours International de Piano d’Epinal in France, and keyboard section prizes of both the Tunbridge Wells International Young Concert Artists Competition and the 2017 Royal Over-Seas League Arts Competition. In 2020 he was accepted onto the Tillett Trust DEBUT recital scheme, and he is currently also a member of The Countess of Munster Musical Trust Recital Scheme.

Alongside work as a soloist, he is a passionate chamber musician, accompanist, and jazz player, performing extensively and winning prizes with a wide array of ensembles, including the Mithras Trio and with flautist Meera Maharaj.

Concert supported by the Countess of Munster Musical Trust