Saturday 21st September 2019 at 7.30pm

Piatti Quartet

Piatti Quartet
Piatti Quartet
Nathaniel Anderson-Frank, Michael Trainor ~ violins
Jessie Ann Richardson ~ cello, with Rosalind Ventris ~ viola
String Quartet Debussy 
Winter's Edge (Piatti commission) Turnage 
String Quartet No.8 Op.59 No.2 "Razumovsky" Beethoven 

We have begun our 2019/20 Season with the first concert in our new venue, Amersham Free Church in Woodside Road.

Our first artists of the session were the renowned Piatti String Quartet, making a welcome return visit to the Club. They got our Season off to a wonderful start, beginning their programme with the String Quartet by Debussy. This is not performed nearly as often as it deserves to be, the ravishingly beautiful slow movement in particular leaving the audience spellbound. The quartet's regular violist was unavailable so the two violinists and cellist were joined by Rosalind Ventris, who had a particular spotlight in the next work, the quartet "Winter's Edge" by contemporary composer Mark-Anthony Turnage. This work was receiving only its second UK performance, having been showcased by the Piatti Quartet at the Wigmore Hall in the spring. A work in four short movements, it was very well received by our appreciative audience. After the interval our artists played one of Beethoven's Razumovsky Quartets with great panache. Their sheer energy, particularly in the finale, brought this excellent concert to an end in grand style. The audience thoroughly enjoyed the music and the new venue which augurs success for the continuation of our Season.

Saturday 26th October 2019 at 7.30pm

The English Piano Trio and Friends

Jane Faulkner ~ violin  Timothy Ravenscroft ~ piano  Pal Banda ~ cello;  Suzie Meszaros ~ viola    Roger Ringrose ~ narrator
The English Piano TrioSuzie Meszaros

Jane Faulkner ~ violin, Timothy Ravenscroft ~ piano, Pal Banda ~ cello
Suzie Meszaros ~ viola, Roger Ringrose ~ narrator
"Mozart: Man and Music" A Portrait in Words and Music

A large and enthusiastic audience at Amersham Concert Club's October concert enjoyed a wonderful evening of words and music performed by the English Piano Trio (Jane Faulkner - violin, Timothy Ravenscroft - piano, Pal Banda - cello) with Susie Mészáros - viola and Roger Ringrose - narrator.
Carefully chosen extracts from letters to and from Mozart provided insights into the man and the composer that were illuminating, amusing and, at times, very moving. In between, the musicians played movements from his piano trios and quartets. And how they played! The communication and understanding between all of the players was outstanding and the balance between the virtuoso piano part and the strings was superb.
It is hard to believe that the publisher of the G minor quartet wrote to Mozart when he received it that he should "Write more popularly or else I can neither print nor pay for anything of yours!"
On Saturday, the quartet's performance of the slow 2nd movement, after a poignant reading of a description of Mozart's death from a letter from his sister-in-law, was listened to in rapt silence and greeted with loud and heartfelt applause.

The Club's season continues at the Amersham Free Church on Saturday 30th November with something very different - an evening of jazz classics performed by the NYJO Ambassadors Sextet. Tickets are selling fast.


Saturday 29th February 2020 at 7.30 pm

Pelléas Ensemble

Henry Roberts ~ flute
Oliver Wass ~ harp
Luba Tunnicliffe ~ viola
Pelleas Ensemble
Pelleas Ensemble
"Dance and Death"
 Terzettino Dubois 
 Pièce de Clavecin en Concert Rameau 
 Selections from Romeo and Juliet Prokofiev 
 Duo in B major, K424 Mozart 
 Le Tombeau de Couperin Ravel 

Amersham Concert Club's first concert of the new decade was a very special one. An appreciative audience at the Amersham Free Church was treated to a dazzling display of music-making by the young and very talented Pelleas Ensemble. Henry Roberts (flute), Oliver Wass (harp) and Luba Tunnicliffe (viola) produced a wonderful range of sound and texture from their three instruments. More than one member of the audience commented that it was hard to remember that there were only the three of them as they performed an arrangement of music from Prokoviev's music for the ballet Romeo and Juliet. They captured the drama of the fight scene, the stateliness and formality of the "Montagues and Capulets" and the delicacy of wistfulness of "Juliet as a Young Girl" seemingly with equal ease.

Their highly enjoyable programme also included music by Rameau and Dubois, a lovely arrangement of Mozart's Duo in Bflat major for violin and viola, arranged for flute and viola, and ended with a lovely performance of Ravel's "Tombeau de Couperin". Throughout the evening the intensity of the communication between the three players and their evident love of the music and their joy in sharing it with the audience was a real delight.

The Club's season ends on 28th March with a piano recital by Cristian Sandrin. Please note that this concert starts at 7pm. Tickets available online and on the door.

Amersham Concert Club is a registered charity (1048911) and a member of Making Music.
Making Music logo